Ninoy Painting

Ninoy

This is the painting I submitted for our class exhibit entitled “Tagsibol: Ang Pag-usbong ng mga Bagong Pintor”.  It’s a painting of my boyfriend, Ninoy (Ramon’s nickname) whose birthday came after the death of Ninoy Aquino.  I just thought it was timely, our exhibit opened on the 20th of August, a day before the celebration of Ninoy Aquino’s death and 2 days before Ramon’s birthday.

For me, this painting is a highlight in my self discovery as a painter because it’s the first time I used whites and grays.  I usually just wash my black paint with water to create grays, and not paint the areas I want to be white.  That’s how much I feared white.

During the exhibit, my friend Cheng remembered one painting I made when we were in high school.  It was a painting of former Erap Estrada in a Peso bill with his infamous Jose Velarde signature.  I made that painting in the height of the former president’s impeachment trials.  She said my Ninoy painting reminded her of the textures I used back then.  I don’t know why but whenever I think about what she said, it makes me smile.

